Best Thesis Award

The best thesis award is a presented every 2 years and includes a personal grant of 1000 euro.  To compete the candidates must :

  1. Have presented their work at the NVCB annual meeting at least 2 times
  2. Have a thesis on bone and calcium metabolism
  3. Be a member of the NVCB at the time of the award
  4. Must be present either physically or have a designated back-up

The pdf file of the thesis can be send to the secretary of the society dr. H. J. van de Peppel (he/him) ( If no pdf is available, you can send 4 printed copies to

Dr. H. J. van de Peppel, Erasmus MC, Inwendige Geneeskunde, Wytemaweg 80, 3000 CA Rotterdam.

A designated 3 member jury will decide on the outcome and the board of the society will present the award during the annual meeting . At least 4 candidates must enroll their thesis for the competition otherwise the award round will be postponed for 1 year.


2021 dr Maaike Schilperoort (LUMC) : It’s about time.

2018 dr Bas Majoor (LUMC) : Fibrous Dysplasia

2016 dr Carolina Medina-Gomez (Erasmus MC) : Disentangling the heterogeneity of bone  accrual

2014 dr Antoon van Lierop (LUMC) : Sclerostin: a key regulator of bone metabolism.

2012 dr Karol Estrada (Erasmus MC) : Dissection of the complex genetic architecture of human stature and osteoporosis.

2010 dr Joyce Emons (LUMC) :Regulators of growth plate maturation.

2008 dr Aviral Vatsa (ACTA-UvA en VU) :Mechanosensing and chemical signaling in single osteocytes.

2006 dr Stephanie Schuit (Erasmus MC) :Genetics of the estrogen signaling pathway.

2004 dr Ermond van Beek (LUMC):Mechanism of action of bisphosphonates.